Home / CHT Culture / Background of CHT Ministry

Background of CHT Ministry

The Chittagong Hill Tracts (CHT) is a distinct region in terms of its ethnic, cultural and environmental diversity to the rest of Bangladesh.Chittagong Hill Tracts (CHT) the only extensive hilly area in Bangladesh lies in southeastern part of the country (22.20’N to 22.45’N latitude and 92.54’E to 92.65’E longitude) bordering Myanmar on the southeast, the Indian state of Tripura on the north, Mizoram on the east and Chattragram district on the west. The Chittagong Hill Tracts, combining three hilly districts of Bangladesh Rangamati, Khagrachhari and Bandarban hill districts. The area of the Chittagong Hill Tracts is about 13,295 sq km, which is approximately one-tenth of the total area of Bangladesh. Total population enumerated in the 2011 census was 15,86,141 of which 8,90,435were tribals. The local tribes include the Chakma, Marma, Tripura, Tanchangya, Chak, Pankhua, Mro, Bawm, Lushai, Khyang, and Khumi. These tribal and non-tribal population of CHT live there keeping communal harmony and their own ethnic cultural, religious and linguistic diversities.In 1860, it was annexed by the British and was made an administrative district of Bengal. The biggest and only hydro power generation project of the country is situated at Kaptai in this area. The Chittagong Hill Tracts (CHT) is a unique geographical and cultural section of Bangladesh comprises with a mix of rivers, hills, forest, lakes and natural fountains. After the Liberation of Bangladesh, a faction of tribal people had started armed movement pressing the government to fulfill some demands, which made the whole hilly area politically unrest. For avoiding the path of armed conflict and finding a political solution on the other, under the supervision of Honorable Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, a peace accord (Chittagong Hill Tracts Accord) was signed between National Committee on Chittagong Hill Tracts and the Parbatya Chattagram Jana-Samhati Samiti on 2nd December 1997. After the signing of the peace accord the unstable situation in the CHT came to an end and the Ministry of Chittagong Hill Tracts Affairs emerged on 15th July 1998.

Minister and Scretary of CHT Ministry


Affiliated Organizations under the Ministry:

1) Chittagong Hill Tracts Regional Council (Rangamati)

2) Chittagong Hill Tracts Development Board (Rangamati)

3) Chittagong Hill Tracts Development Board (Rangamati)

4) Taskforce for Repatrition and Rehabilitation of Tribal Refugee returned from India and Identification and

Rehabilitation of Internally Displaced peoples.

5) Rangamati Hill District Council (Rangamati)

6) Bandarban Hill District Council (Bandarban)

7) Khagrachhari Hill District Council (Khagrachhari)

( Sources : CHT Ministry Website)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

8 + 14 =